Spirit Airlines Reviews

IATA code:NK ICAO code:NKS United States www.spiritair.com Overall Satisfaction:1.6 out of 5 15.4% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Spirit Airlines. 15.4% of people who wrote a review think Spirit Airlines offers a good value for money. 61.5% of …

IATA code:NK

ICAO code:NKS

United States FlagUnited States

www.spiritair.com

Overall Satisfaction:1.6 out of 5

15.4% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with Spirit Airlines.

15.4% of people who wrote a review think Spirit Airlines offers a good value for money.

61.5% of people who wrote a review think Spirit Airlines offers a very poor customer service.

Classes of service

Economy

92.3%

Business

7.7%

First

0%

Customer Service

Excellent 0%

Good

15.4%

Satisfactory

7.7%

Poor

15.4%

Very Poor

61.5%

Spirit Airlines Reviews

“Spirit Sucks!”

by GustavoAraujo • Sat, 10/13/2012 01:55 PM

1 out of 5

I bought 4 air fairs to Dallas, we got to the airport 53 minutes before departure and could not embarque because the plane was full! Spirit advises you to be there at least 45 minutes before departure, now I didn’t buy a stand by ticket! I bought a regular ticket! And for me not to embarque because the plane is full is ridiculous!! The staff was very rude and sarcastic, I lost a wedding that I was suppose to participate.

I will never fly with this company again and reather advise someone to jump off a bridge than purchase a Spirit airlines fair!

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“thieves”

by isaiahloses • Tue, 10/02/2012 05:21 PM

1 out of 5

They stole my money and were deceptive both online and over the phone.
DO NOT USE THEM!!!

For your own sake

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Go Places For Less “

by macgreen199 • Mon, 09/24/2012 02:32 AM

5 out of 5

This was my first time flying Spirit Airlines and was regretting my decision after I had read so many poor reviews on the airline. In retrospect I think these individuals writing the reviews didn’t read the fine print before they flew and weren’t happy with all the extra fees that they incurred on Spirit. I read everything before making my purchase and was well aware of all the bag fees that they charge, the fact that they charge for everything including water onboard, and even carry on bags. Pay to check your bag when you purchase your ticket and you will save more money or pay in advance prior to traveling. You get charged more for carrying on a bag so just check it for less and then you don’t have to haul it through the airport. Even paying for bags and upgraded seats we still saved a ton of money rather than flying some of the other big name Airlines (i.e. American) who can’t seem to get a flight off the ground on time. There was little interaction with the employee’s but, we did have an occurrence on the return flight. We were traveling with our infant who is 8 months old. When we left DFW no one ever requested her birth certificate but on the return flight the lady tried to make an ordeal about how it is a requirement. I previously worked for another airline and know that a birth certificate can be requested when the age of the child needs to be verified to ensure that the child is under 2 years of age. It is clear that my daughter is no where close to 2 years old. There was no need for them to request her birth certificate but the lady was rude and insisted it was company policy. I was not informed of this when I left it was never even an issue. Overall though everyone in our party of 6 was pleased with our travel and we will most definitely be flying Spirit again. I recommend it to anyone who likes to save money and loves to travel. We are able to increase the amount of trips we can take now that we have found such amazing fares on Spirit. I recommend this to anyone who knows their stuff before they go and price compare with other airlines – even with all of the fees you will still be saving money.

Conclusion

Recommended: Yes

Value for Money: Yes

Customer Service: Good

Cabin: Economy

“Misleading Cheap Flight”

by kingstonja • Wed, 08/08/2012 09:38 PM

1 out of 5

Spirit Airlines is a so misleading. As nowadays everyone books through a travel service online-Travel One this time and the fact that Spirit charges for bags was never mentioned!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My father who is 74 booked the flight and did not know to even ask this. Spirit Airlines charges 30 bucks each way for even carry ons! International flight only 40 lbs limit! And 33 bucks each way if you want to check a bag in!!

I called customer service and they gave me the run around that it was policy and no way they could wave or even give dad a discount! I spoke with the manager after about 30 minutes hold time and he was set in his ways too!!

After living 74 yers of being honest and still working not even a Senior Discount!
Spirit Airlines–
BAD SPITRIT AND CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

“Awful!”

by Gnarwhal • Sun, 06/10/2012 08:34 AM

1 out of 5

Watch out for this airline. You certainly get what you pay for!

I am a tall guy and the seats do not pitch at all because they pack with like sardines to get more money.

As soon as we took off the flight attendant would not stop talking on the speaker for about literally 30 minutes at the start and 30 minutes at the end.

The planes are sketchy my tray was broken and the planes shake like crazy now I am a seasoned traveler and do not have much problems with planes but I literally thought we were going to fall out of the sky at some parts of the flight.

You do not get any drinks at all or food everything you have to pay for (not a surprise).

The only two circumstances that I would EVER go back on a Spirit Airlines plane are: 1) When I do not need any checked luggage and have my own “personal item” because that saves on a lot of fees with bags so basically if you are going on vacation for 4 days then you can manage to fit into a backpack OR 2) If the plane ride is 2 hours or less.

A three hour plane ride from Myrtle Beach to Chicago was way too much for my back and I am going on a vacation to Los Angeles for three weeks and Spirit had the cheapest light but it is way too long and expensive.

Also! FYI most of their flights have connections and you have red eye flights (probably because they want to sve money with inexpensive route times).

All I can say is this airlines is one hot mess and you would literally have to drag me onto a plane that carries their name.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Turbulence!!”

by Guest • Mon, 05/28/2012 01:25 AM

4 out of 5

We flew flt 174 fort laud-laguardia the price was good Ive been on spirit before and i knew what to expect. If u pay online everything is actually cheaper and u get to save some $$$ .

The customer service was just averge as long as ur nice to ticket agents theyre nice to u.

Now what caught my attention is that right after take off there was so much turbulence the plane was shaking side to side and everybody was screaming. I got so nervous and the flight attendants noticed and after it passed they were looking for those of us who were scared and asked us if we were
Ok. When I went to the restroom there was a young flight attendant “Santiago” and I asked him about what had happened earlier and he explained to me how the weather works and how sometimes storms don’t show up on the radar and how it is not a big deal and the planes are brand new our plane was 6 months old and they are actually build for any kind of heavy weather. He then promised me no more turbulence as it seemed the weather was gonna be ok all the way to New York and he offered me some ice even tho i already purchased a bottle of water.

Overall i though the behavior of them was very professional and i dont know if he was lying or not but they sure made me feel better and it looks like they actually have their stuff together.

Overall when we left i thanked him and a nice lady flight attenant for their help and they said ‘thats what they are here for’.

If only all of spirit employees were like that i think it would even be worth to live the horror of seating in those horrible seats.

Conclusion

Recommended: Yes

Value for Money: Yes

Customer Service: Good

Cabin: Economy

“No Customer Service knowledge or accessibility”

by mamiekelley • Thu, 04/26/2012 04:18 PM

2 out of 5

In order to even ask about a lost bag, one would have to be present at the airport. I left the airport without my bag late last night – after waiting at the Carousel and then not finding a desk or person to report it to. I left the airport and emailed and called to no long waits and call centers who repeated, “We’re extremely sorry Ms Kelley but you have to go to the airport baggage claim.” to which i replied, I am no longer at the airport. I am in my sons’ apartment in his clothes with no vehicle. I just want you to help me report my bag is lost…. You cannot even track your bag unless it has been reported. In order to report it you have to be at the airport. No provisions for the Spirit Baggage desk being closed at 1 am or for persons looking and not finding it late at night.
It must be a joke in the countries where they take the calls – they have no power but to say, “i’m extremely sorry.” And now I know why.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Never, ever fly Spirit”

by Guest • Sat, 04/14/2012 10:43 PM

1 out of 5

Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced with an airline.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Horrible Customer Service and Communication”

by Guest • Sat, 04/07/2012 02:29 AM

1 out of 5

My husband and I went to Vegas for my spring break from nursing school, which was supposed to be nice and relaxing, but ended up being a complete nightmare on the day we were supposed to fly back home. Our original flight from Chicago left without much incidence and i wasn’t going to complain about certain things, but now that my experience was so horrendous, I’m going to list it all.

Bags – all bags, checked and unchecked are extra. If your bag is over 40 pounds, there’s another fee for that (most airlines give you 50 pound limits).

Seats – the seats are literally benches with seat backs attached. Seats don’t recline and you are forced into a completely upright position for the entire flight unless you want to pay extra for the couple of seats that do recline. Ridiculous. Our flight left chicago at 10:30 pm and arrived in Vegas at midnight Vegas time (which was 2am Chicago time…needless to say, we were exhausted and our backs hurt).

Flight drinks and food – ALL at an extra charge. Even water and pop.

Ok, that was my major complaints BEFORE our return flight home.

On 4/5/12, we arrived at the airport 2 hours before our flight to find out that our flight was CANCELLED. Best part was nobody was addressing us or answering our questions. They just kept saying, you have to wait in this line that wasn’t moving. I kept hearing from other people down the line that the soonest they’d be able to get us home was 4/8/12 in the afternoon. That’s three more days of hotel and food in Vegas (NOT cheap), and they were offering us a $50 flight voucher for future flights for our “trouble.” No offer of payment for food and hotel for 3 MORE DAYS.

After asking if they needed my information, I was told no, only to find out from a supervisor 10 minutes later that they did indeed need my info to help us. The communication and customer service was a mess. They kept saying they’d get back to us and to go have a seat and wait and that they’d get it “figured out.” We arrived at the airport at 12:20 Vegas time and didn’t have an answer about whether or not we’d be able to get home until 2:20 Vegas time. In the meantime, we’re trapped in the desert with no water and no access to food until they can get it fixed.

Once we were transferred over to an American Airlines flight, things went much more smoothly, but the way things were handled by Spirit was horrendous. They claimed they had contacted all the passengers, but the only contact I had recieved was a missed phone call from a number I didn’t recognize and no message. Our flight was cancelled because supposedly hail punched 12 holes into the body of the plane that we were supposed be be flying on. Makes you wonder about the craftmanship of their plains if hail can put 12 holes into their air carriers.

Needless to say, I will NEVER fly with spirit again. This situation was handled very poorly, and I have heard from other spirit customers, including friends of mine, that this is par for the course for this company. Why are they even still in business? Once you pay for all the extras they charge you, you’re flight is not going to be any cheaper than they other air carriers.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Just Awful”

by Guest • Thu, 03/22/2012 09:00 PM

1 out of 5

Worst flight experience ever! Flight was delayed both ways. Many hours for the return flight and once they boarded us, we have to sit on the plane at the gate for another 45 minutes as the captain shared with us that “their corporate office had not logged our flight and we could not leave until that was processed:. So we sat in seats that did not recline, no magazines provided and the most unfriendly staff. Prior to boarding the nine Spirit terminal counters around us had not one employee avaiable to answer and questions or provide assistance. To check a bag was less expensive than to carry on a bag. How backwards is that!!! Never! Never! Again! I would be willing to pay more money to not have my flight delayed and have friendly staff to assist me.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy Class