United Airlines Reviews

IATA code:UA ICAO code:UAL United States Alliance: Star Alliance www.united.com Overall Satisfaction: 1.7 out of 5 13% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with United Airlines. 21.7% of people who wrote a review think United Airlines offers a good value …

United Airlines logo

IATA code:UA

ICAO code:UAL

United States FlagUnited States

Alliance: Star Alliance

www.united.com

Overall Satisfaction:

1.7 out of 5

13% of people who wrote a review recommend flying with United Airlines.

21.7% of people who wrote a review think United Airlines offers a good value for money.

60.9% of people who wrote a review think United Airlines offers a very poor customer service.

Classes of service

Economy

82.6%

Business

0%

First

17.4%

Customer Service

Excellent

8.7%

Good

4.3%

Satisfactory

8.7%

Poor

17.4%

Very Poor

60.9%

United Airlines Reviews

“Helping the Handicapped”

by GrandpaRon • Sun, 10/21/2012 07:32 PM

5 out of 5

On a recent trip from Oklahoma to Buffalo via Denver and Chicago, I required assistance at each stop in the form of a wheelchair. United had a chair right at the aircraft door waiting for me every time without fail. The personnel were pleasant, helpful and cheerful. I was delivered with care to my connecting gate where required and on a timely basis. After having a very difficult time on another airline, I was relieved and thankful for having flown United on my return trip. I wish to say a big THANK YOU to all the employees that made my trip stress and pain free. These good people make United my airline of choice.

Conclusion

Recommended: Yes

Value for Money: Yes

Customer Service: Excellent

Cabin: Economy

“THE ONLY HELP YOU IF YOU STAND FIRM”

by comet2222 • Wed, 10/17/2012 06:55 AM

2 out of 5

hello recent trip to New York city then Washington DC then Orlando Disney World we had a ball and would love to go again.On our way back to Australia via Orlando we encountered severe storms so our flight out of Orlando was delayed by 2 hours so we missed our connection in San Francisco for Sydney and Melbourne.We got to San Francisco just as our connecting flight was leaving at about 11.15 pm.We were directed to the United Airlines customer service counter and basically were on our own.It took form 11.15pm until 1.30am to get United to give us a room for the night and meal vouchers.Other people gave up either slept at the airport or paid for their own accommodation.United stated that due to the delay out of Orlando being weather related they did not have to supply accommodation or meals .We were told that the next flight we could get on back to Australia was in 5 days time and if we wanted to take our chances on the standby list to come back at 8 pm and wait to see if could get on.The next day we rang United we booked ourselves on an Air New Zealand flight back to Melbourne from Los Angeles for the following day or so we thought .The United girl on the phone stuffed it all up and only booked me and my son back to Australia and not my wife .It was only by luck checking the internet that I found she was not booked .We decided to go to the airport after 2 hours on the phone trying to sort it out.Lucky for us we found the most help full and lovely lady at United International Booking desk and she sorted it all out for us just, as there were only 3 seats left on Air New Zealand out of Lax.We had to stay in San Francisco an extra night but as it turned out my travel insurance through Nab platinum card paid for it all .The people in San Francisco were fantastic and helped us no end Crown Plaza Foster city has the best staff in the world thank you.
So please the moral to the story is 1 Make sure you leave plenty of time for you connection in the end it cost me 2 days.2 stand firm with United Airlines dont give up.3 make sure you have travel insurance.On a final note getting onto Air New Zealand after United was like going to heaven we were upgraded my wife going premium economy and my son and I the best seats in economy thanks to the Air New Zealand staff at LAX

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money:Yes

Customer Service:Poor

Cabin:Economy

“Worst customer service ever”

by YeagerGray • Sat, 10/13/2012 12:05 AM

1 out of 5

We had reservations for a 2 week trip from Sacramento to Washington, DC, then to NYC and home. We wanted to change the time of the leg of the flight from Washington to NYC (a one hour flight) and were quoted an additional $1000 EACH to change the flight by a few hours. So ridiculous and unacceptable!!!!!!!!

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“How United treats its best customers!!!”

by citizenoftheworld • Mon, 10/01/2012 11:48 PM

1 out of 5

I am a 1K member of United Airlines (JE010978) and have previously been a long time Platinum Member of Continental Airlines.

This review is in the result of consistent poor experience on United … to the point where I sadly realize that flights on some of the Asian Airlines (eg Singapore) in the cheapest economy fare are much better than flying as a 1K passenger on United … and that I might be better served taking my business somewhere else

In 2 recent trips to Sao Paulo, Brazil, I have experienced the following:
– United Presidential club – yes I happen to be a club member also — always looks like an evacuation area for people fleeing a disaster area… endless rows of crammed seating space facing each other, with no space for luggage, no internet access (too many people trying to access the wifi hotspot), inadequately ventilated (smells bad). I lasted there 2 mins before deciding I’d rather take my chances anywhere else in the airport
– United global upgrades: my experience is that the hard earned ‘global upgrades’ only work on about 25% of the flight legs – so I ended flying in the Premium Economy section.
Sounds like the only folks who get consistently upgraded are those in the ‘Global Services’ segment. Only problem, there is no advertised criteria to make it in this category. It is ‘by selection only’ and it is quite frustrating for those who fly United enough to make it to 1K … yet do not ‘get selected’

United airplane: My window seat space was minimal – thankfully I am relatively fit – and follows the curvature of the airplane fuselage meaning it is narrower in the bottom leaving little space for your feet and the distance between rows is painful especially if you want to get work done.
Most of all, the airplane was freezing (consistent experience on several United flights lately) and despite frequent passengers’ complaints) nothing was done

-United service: the worst part is the service. flight attendants acted as if they were on a court-ordered community service duty. Grumpy, short tempered everytime you asked them for something. I even got them complaining when I brought my own trash to the service area instead of waiting for them to collect it.
I fail to understand why we have excellent service on average in the hospitality industry in the US and why it is so poor on United. What does it take to smile and be helpful as it is on Singapore airlines? Is it a culture shift?
Are flight attendents underpaid? Or should the airline make their salary dependent on customer Sat — maybe we should tip them at the end of each trip? whatever it takes someone should figure it out!!!!

Net net: Global Services vs. 1K, Narrow, cold seating space, horrible service quality …. are sending a clear signal that I’d better take my business somewhere else unless United wakes up and takes action. As a 1K loyal customer I feel that they are consistently over-promising and under-delivering!

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Never again!!!”

by chlselyn • Wed, 09/26/2012 01:36 AM

1 out of 5

I will do everything in my power to make sure that neither I, nor anyone else I know or talk to, will choose United to fly on. The service was abyssmal, and even looking back on it weeks after it happened, I get surges of anger coursing through me. So, to start from the beginning- we left Stockholm, Sweden Thursday, August at about 10 a.m. After flying for 8.5 hours on SAS, arrived at Newark airport for our layover at 1 p.m. eastern time. Our flight was to leave at 5:20 p.m., but it was delayed and the gate was changed. This was fine. We finally got on the plane and started to make our way down the runway. Then we stopped- there was a big storm, and the planes were lining up and waiting for a break. We got in line, but each break was only a few minutes, then we would move a little before being stuck for another 20 or 30 minutes. The plane was stifling hot. They couldn’t turn on the other engine until we were going to fly, and the heat was thick with the sweat of a couple hundred people. We had a hard time breathing, and kept wondering why they didn’t offer us water in the hours we were sitting there boiling. We finally went back to the gate. They kept us on the plane, deciding if we were going to de-plane or just sit there boiling. Another 30 minutes later, we got off the plane– with a warning not to go to far, because they were probably going to refuel and send us off. Maybe an hour or two later, they told us that the flight was cancelled and we should make our way over to the customer service counter manned by 2 very unfortunate United agents. Everybody piled into a massive line. It was almost midnight by then.

I was crying because I wanted to see my family (I get to see them once a year), and we ran over to the line, but were close to last in line anyway. At this point, we had been traveling for 18 hours. My boyfriend asked some United agents walking by if there was any way we could get vouchers for food– we didn’t carry enough cash on us to pay for airport food for such a long time. The answer was no. They did, however, hand us a phone number for the United customer service, which they said was probably better than waiting in line. We, not having a phone that worked in the US, found a nice person who let us borrow his phone. We called, and when the woman I spoke with us said we could go to Denver on Saturday afternoon, I burst into tears again. She put me on hold, and after 50 minutes of holding and listening to some guy talk about how great United was (and how they were spending 55 million dollars on upgrades), she returned and said that she could get us a flight at 5:20 p.m. the next day. Better than Saturday, but another 17 hours at Newark wasn’t exactly a relief. One problem- she could book us for the flight, but since we booked our flight thgrough SAS, only they could issue us new tickets. So we had to go find them, in another terminal, sometime in the morning when the airlines resumed business. We again asked multiple agents if there was some way we could get vouchers for food or a hotel, but nobody seemed to really care. They kept saying that it wasn’t their fault– it was the weather, so they didn’t have any legal responsibility to care for us in any way. Thanks, United, for not even showing the least smallest amount of human decency possible.

So we slept curled up in chairs at the airport. Or we tried to, at least. At 7a.m. we went to the tram so we could go to SAS and get tickets issued. We were then informed that since we booked our flight through SAS, and SAS is an international airline, their service desks don’t open until 2-3 hours before their first flight- which happened to be at 5 p.m. that day. We went again to try to find anyone at United who might be willing to help. The first person I spoke to said “Make it quick, I’m off in 5 minutes.” I tried to quickly explain our situation, and she responded with “Yeah, you’re going to have to ask somebody else.” We talked to a few more people, nobody being able to help… We decided to walk over to the Premier line and ask one of the service people over there. Immediately, he called a supervisor and within 5 minutes, she had printed our boarding passes and had put us on the wait list for all flights to Denver that day. We waited, and kept trying customer service to try to get some sort of way to purchase food. After 20 hours of being at the airport, there was one single person that took pity on us. She couldn’t believe what we had been through, and she gave us each vouchers to buy food. This was the only time the entire experience that someone had showed any empathy whatsoever, so we were grateful. After waiting all day to try to get on other flights, we went to the boarding area for the flight we were booked on. And waited…. Our flight that was supposed to leave at 5:20 left at around 8:20.

So basically, our 18 hour trip had turned into about 48 hours of traveling. I understand that weather happens, and companies will try to do anything to not spend money on their customers (or I should say their economy customers, because they’re apparently spending 55 million on having the most Premier class seats that lay down), but this was ridiculous. I have never been treated so badly by so many people in my life. Nobody willingly helped us, gave us information, or offered to do anything for our troubles. Nobody took pity on us, or thought twice about our crappy experience. I think it’s pathetic that a company this big has absolutely no consideration for their clients. I guess only their Premier clients get that kind of service, you know– because they pay extra. I wish that they wouldn’t have bought out Continental, because they were actually pretty good.

Also, when we went to the Denver airport for our return flight, they had canceled our reservations— without any notice or conversation of any type. We asked why, and the agent at the baggage check-in said that it had something to do with our flight being canceled on our trip there. Apparently, if you end up spending a couple days at the airport being treated like crap, they automatically cancel your flight home as kind of a bonus! Thanks a lot, United.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Bumped/Cancelled/Lied to”

by juliealice • Sun, 09/02/2012 05:55 PM

1 out of 5

Flight was confirmed night before takeoff, morning of takeoff received a phone call our itinerary had been changed…flights to Erie PA divided up taking off later that day, staying in Denver 3 days and arriving the day we were scheduled to leave Erie PA!
The agent said the flights had been cancelled, however they had not been cancelled when we looked online…they were all on time, we were just bumped because we had lower cost tickets purchased through an online service.
They offered no alternative, and were not willing to give us any compensation other than the ticket price back.
They essentially cancelled our trip and we had to cancel the rest of the trip from Erie as well.
Very BAD experience, would never recommend or fly United again as they cannot be trusted.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Awful airline”

by Havier • Mon, 08/27/2012 01:33 PM

1 out of 5

Where to start.

I left Melbourne on time but when I got to LAX I learnt my connecting flight to IAD airport was delayed. I then spent FOUR HOURS in a queue waiting to speak to a customer service rep, after which time I gave up as I had to catch my now boarding flight. As I was boarding the plane I was informed the connecting flight would not be made and the no accomodation or meal vouchers would be supplied due to “Having no available rooms” no excuse was offered for no meal vouchers. So I spent a night in IAD airport with a newly found friend in the same situation. The next morning the flight changed gate 4 times, each time leaving from a different terminal (Terminal A to C to A and back to C) so I had to go back and forth via the train to make sure I didn’t miss my flight.

On the way back flights were again delayed by multiple hours but at least every flight was so I still made them all.

THe staff I actually managed to speak to on ground were rude (with the exception of the gentleman at MDT airport) and the in-air staff were no better. Food was awful, dreadfully undercooked rice, overcooked chicken, poor tasting sandwiches etc.

In flight entertainment is all on overhead monitors so you watch whatever they put on plus a few radio stations so make sure your MP3 player/iPad/Kindle or whatever is fully charged as it is not possible to recharge in economy.

The ailine is cheap but I am beggin any travellers with multiple connections to SERIOUSLY reconsider flying with United, especially Transcontinental flights.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Worst Airline Ever”

by MTindle • Sun, 08/19/2012 03:36 AM

1 out of 5

Booked my son’s trip 6 months ago on United Airlines. Was very hesitant as 3 years ago, they screwed up my travel so bad that I ended up with no medication or clothes for three days (would have bought more, but they kept promising they were going to fix the problem). Never flew with them again. Unfortunately, they were way lower than any other airline when I booked his trip, and I got sucked in. Figured they couldn’t screw up that badly a second time. Oh how wrong was I! About a month before his flight, I got an email from United stating they had to make some changes to his reservation. Sent me new itinerary with the outbound flight from Cincinnati to Reno changed but the return flight from Reno to Cincinnati unchanged. As I received plenty of notice and the schedule change wasn’t too radical, I wasn’t upset. However, when my son and I went to the airport to send him home to Cincinnati, we discovered United Airlines had cancelled his return flight. The updated itinerary had his return flight listed, which made me believe he had a valid flight reservation. I received no notification of the cancellation. At the airport, they tried to book him on a flight that had multiple stops and would require him to spend almost 20 hours either flying or sitting in airports. And, they acted as if they were doing me a favor by rebooking the flight I had already paid for and they totally screwed up. An hour after getting to the counter, we finally had another flight booked, the next day, leaving at 6:30 in the morning! Thank heavens the flight is on Delta as I will never fly United Airlines again.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: Economy

“Nightmare in First Class. No longer breaking guitars, now it’s people!”

by tambones2 • Tue, 08/14/2012 04:44 AM

1 out of 5

We flew First Class A Fare round trip. Last flight of our journey was#1496. Husband who just had major abdominal surgery earlier in the week needed crackers and gatorade every 5 hours per doctors order. Flight attendant refused to bring him a snackpack with crackers in place of a fancy first class meal he couldn’t eat.. After 50 minutes of her continuing to ignore him and watching him become sicker and sicker, I got the lead flight attendant involved. Disgusting!!!!! Had to listen to the same undertrained, beligerant, flight attendant complain during the flight about how all of her boyfriends keep dumping her and not understanding why. I listened to a preflight recording talking about their dedication to “Service”. They need to stop “talking” and start “acting” upon their mission statement.

Conclusion

Recommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Very Poor

Cabin: First

“Flight delayed…again”

by Grantv14 • Mon, 08/06/2012 03:48 PM

1 out of 5

During this trip we had bought a round trip ticket from Minneapolis to boston connecting through Chicago on the departure and Cleveland on the returning flight. All four of the flights were delayed and our last flight was cancelled.

The fact that this flight was cancelled is not a rare occurrence. The hotel that we were suggested to stay at for the night (which was not paid for) informed us that this happens every night and the driver confirmed this trend when he old us he would never fly united after working his job.

We are now going on hour 20 of being delayed ad sitting at an airport with no compensation whatsoever. I will not fly with united again after this experience.

ConclusionRecommended: No

Value for Money: No

Customer Service: Satisfactory

Cabin: Economy